## CHAPTER I.

of new Provinces, this number has been increased to 211, distributed among the several Provinces as follows: Ontario, 92; Quebec, 65; Nova Scotia, 21; New Brunswick, 16; Manitoba, 5; British Columbia, 6; and Prince Edward Island, 6. By legislation during the session of 1886 the representation of the North-West Territories by four members was provided for, and the Act came into effect on the 18th February, 1887, thereby raising the number of members to 215. By section 51 of the British North America Act it was provided that the number of representatives for Quebec should always be 65, and that the other Provinces should be represented in such proportion to their population, as ascertained at each decennial census, as the number 65 would bear to the population of Quebec so ascertained.

## Representation.

35. The following table gives the proportionate representation of each Province according to the Re-distribution Act of 1882:—

Ontario Or	e member to	20,908	of the population.
Quebec	"	20,904	- 6
Nova Scotia	"	20,979	٤.
New Brunswick	"	20,077	4.4
Manitoba	4.	13,190	4
British Columbia	"	8,243	**
Prince Edward Island	"	18,148	44
The Territories	••	12,090	11
Canada	4	20,496	"

The original numbers of representatives from Manitoba, British Columbia and Prince Edward Island were specially provided for in the Acts admitting these Provinces into the Confederation. Subsequent readjustment will be in accordance with the above mentioned section of the British North America Act.

Administration.

36. The administration of public affairs is divided into thirteen departments, each presided over by a Minister, who may be a member either of the Senate or the House of Commons, and these Ministers form the Cabinet for the